Meg’s Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

The Begining of the End

with 7 comments

At the end of the year we have to do a final project that can showcase some of the things that we have learned about throughout the semester.  Being that I had a really negative attitude about technology and some of its uses prior to this Education computers class, I want to display the positive knowledge that I have acquired while also explaining some of the scepticism’s that I still have about new technologies.  To do this I want to read Neil Postman’s Technopoly: The Surrender of Culture to technology, and pull quotes and ideas from it to defend the negative grip that technology has on people.  To counterbalance this I will research some more of the positive sides of technology and then as an in class presentation I will rein-act a debate between the two sides of technology and open the class up to a discussion towards the end.

Dean wants me to explore making a video instead of preforming it in front of the class, which is fine.  Naturally he is encouraging all of us to use the aid of technology to pull together our final projects.  If anyone has any ideas or questions about this I encourage you to ask away 🙂

Written by petermeg

October 19, 2008 at 11:58 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’d suggest using Slideshare for your presentation.
    This link shows you an example of not only how to present but also how to create the visuals and also the audio.

    http://www.slideshare.net/selias22/taking-your-slide-deck-to-the-next-level

    Dean Shareski

    October 20, 2008 at 4:36 am

  2. I’m curious if your opposition to technology was professional or personal… I know teachers who love and use technology and computers easily in their everyday lives, but baulk at including it in the classroom.

    fallapartrabbit

    October 20, 2008 at 6:00 am

  3. Sorry – that last comment was by me – I don’t know why it lists me as fallapart… stupid technology 😉

    Ian H.

    October 20, 2008 at 6:02 am

  4. Hi Meg

    The idea of presenting both sides of the conversation is interesting. I immediately thought of VoiceThread as a tool for allowing “many voices” into the topic. You could initially upload your pictures, video etc. Then, through audio or video comments, you take on the roles of two sides of the argument. Share the VoiceThread with others for their comments as well.

    Good Luck with the project whatever form it takes. I’ll be interested in hearing more.

    Maris

    Maria Knee

    October 25, 2008 at 2:08 pm

  5. Hey there!

    haha this is a great idea for you Meg! You know what would be neat in the discussion is if you could have some comparisons such as, the thoughts on the atomic bomb.. lol
    OR Something like that..

    Really great idea though! way to push the button!

    danarogo

    October 27, 2008 at 3:37 am

  6. Thank you Ian for your question. I think that it is both personal and professional. On a personal level I love my life having a minimal amout of technology, for many many reasons and because of my experience with it. I am a lot more passionate about my personal experience because I have not yet taught in at all – and in particular when a vast range of technology is avaliable. When I think about technology I think about how addicting it is and how impersonal it makes us all become. I am finally now learning from Dean about the other side of this story. But I still think that my side of the story has some valid points that should not be overlooked. Overall, as a culture, we must come to an understanding of what the appropriate balance should be in our personal lives and in the classroom – because we are all undeniably connected.

    petermeg

    November 6, 2008 at 12:37 am

  7. Interesting… do you consider technology as an ends unto itself, or simply as a means to an end? In other words, do you think technology is taught simply so that students know how to use technology, or is it taught so that they can use technology to do something else?

    Ian H.

    November 7, 2008 at 5:43 pm


Leave a Reply

