Meg’s Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

A Caveman’s First Computer

with 4 comments

When I lived at home last year my dad used to sneak into my room in the middle of the night and steal my laptop computer to use while I was catching some zzz.  He thought that he was being soooo stealthy.  He works at CP Rail and so that is why it would sometimes be in the dead of night.  This got to be pretty ridiculous because he thought that he was being so quiet and he was well – quite the opposite.  I thought that it was cute that he was becoming so addicted to this new technology because he has been wearing the same Levi jeans for the past 30 years and just last year he had his first bagel.  The man is afraid of change.

It was his birthday just a few weeks ago and we decided to get him a laptop for himself.  I thought that he would have a lot of questions that evening but nothing.  He said that he had everything all figured out.  Tonight he popped by me and my fiance’s house to say hi and we spent over an hour setting up an email account for him and then explaining it to him.  This just reminded me that I may have a lot to learn, but things could always be worse 🙂

Written by petermeg

October 7, 2008 at 4:25 am

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. My dad is 76 years old and has had laptop and a digital camera for about 5 years. He lives in Manitoba and Florida and phones me at least 2 times a week to help him with some problem. He loves to learn which is awesome.

    So expect to be your Dad’s “go to person” from now on.

    Dean Shareski

    October 7, 2008 at 5:24 am

  2. Thanks for the heads up Dean. Ahhhgg 🙂

    petermeg

    October 7, 2008 at 5:38 am

  3. My dad is pretty muc hte same. About all he can really do on the computer is play games. But use the internet? Forget it. So often when i was living at home I’d have to go and show him howto deal with something(like a pop up) It didn’t help that their computer is ancient so it never works right. Very frustrating. Oh well at least they try.

    Amber Merritt

    October 7, 2008 at 7:22 pm

  4. I know how you feel. My brother is always on the computer. I never get to go on the internet. Do you have a big brother? What do you like best about blogging?

    Hunter

    October 14, 2008 at 12:16 pm


Leave a Reply

