Meg’s Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Tech Task #7: Yearnings and Learnings

with 3 comments

Years ago when I was taking vocal lessons and singing a lot, I read a book (just for kicks :)) called Vocal Resonance.  This book was entirely unnecessary for me to read, however it was summer time, lessons had ceased and I was craving more information about the ways that I could improve and strengthen my already neatly trained voice.  Now this book was ridiculous, and I mean that.  There was a 45 page section on tongue placement while singing on the vowel “E”.  Crazy ?  Yes, but I loved every minute of that learning process.  In particular I loved the fact that at 16 years old I was motivating myself to want to read that for my own personal educational process.  The point that Iam attempting to make is that no one asked me to read this book, and in fact when I told my voice teacher about it the following year she said that she wouldn’t even read a book like that, that it contained information that was not necessary for someone at my level.  Well I just grinned when she told me this,because I felt so proud of myself for going beyond what was expected  of me.

  As people of all shapes and sizes, we are always searching to become better at the things that we love, and that is precisely what I did that summer.  But, what I have realized now is that after reading that book, I gained some knowledge for myself most certainly, however what has proved to be more important is the amount of times that I have helped others with their music since I had read that book.  To me learning is all about intention.  I always try to ask myself before learning something new what my intention behind that learning is.

Without question I learn best when I have motivated myself to want more knowledge on a particular subject, and I think that many people operate the same way.  I quite enjoy reading books about inspiration, spirituality (not to be confused whith any particular religion), and all of the arts.  I seem to be facinated by the arts and have never learned something new about this particulat subject that I havent already put back out to the world.  That is the best thing about learning, any speck of knowledge that you pick up will follow you wherever you go.  Knowledge has only the potential to grow, and remains to be a force that can never be stopped.

I have just recently began to implement checking out new information on the computer as a resource for myself.  I enjoy learning in a hands on environmentand I have yet to have enough experiences with that being fused with technology.  However I look foreword to find more of what I love to learn via computer so that I can become more technologically savvy.  I must admit that my learning network right now is very small.  I enjoy reading books,and having hands on experiences with real people, but I look forword to expansion of my learning network in the near future.

Written by petermeg

September 27, 2008 at 9:05 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’d love to hear your thoughts on a post I wrote a while back.

    http://ideasandthoughts.org/2007/12/01/how-selfish-are-you/

    Dean Shareski

    September 29, 2008 at 4:29 am

  2. Well, thanks to your teacher your network just increased in size. Your description of learning and making it personal learning is really terrific.
    This is my favorite quote of yours, “I learn best when I have motivated myself to want more knowledge on a particular subject”. This is what I want my classrooms to be about, wanting more! Keep reflecting and writing you have a great career ahead of you.
    Cheryl Oakes, Maine, USA

    Cheryl Oakes

    September 29, 2008 at 9:46 am

  3. Hey Megz! Thanks so much for commenting on my post on learning! I liked that you called it a “gift” that made me feel great! Also you were my second comment so far. I have read yours as well and I have to say that you don’t need to worry about the fact that your “learning network right now is very small” we are just starting out at this and I’m sure that in time we will be pro’s at all this networking stuff! I also fully agree with Cheryl, the fact that you motivate yourself is awesome and I think that is a very good rare quality that you have.

    courtneylee123

    October 6, 2008 at 6:32 pm


Leave a Reply

